Downtown · Fine Dining · Southern Cuisine

Etch

A year ago in July I won a free lunch from Etch…so on a Friday a friend and I went down for a long lunch to try it out. Let me just say that is one of the top ten best meals I have ever had. We even had to take our dessert to go because we were so full! Check out the photo and review below.


IMG_5971For a starter we went with the Roasted Cauliflower as that is what they are known for with truffled pea pesto and feta dip. I don’t like cauliflower-at all-and I ate this down with the pea pesto and feta dip, along with the beautiful black olives. They made for such a glorious combination.

We also ordered an octopus starter that included shrimp and calamari. My dining companion was not a fan of octopus but I enjoy it (nothing beats Girl and the Goat though). Of the two appetizers, I would vote for the Cauliflower hands down.

I opted for the Catfish at lunch and it was amazing. It was not oily, nor was the breading falling apart. It was balanced with a strawberry and pomegranate sauce and greens. It was light enough for lunch but filling enough to not be hungry again in a couple of hours. I would return again for the fish.

For dessert, yes dessert for each of us was included in the free meal, I went for the Peach Crumble tart and even to-go it was jaw-droppingly good. My friend got the Mocha Torte and stated it was the best chocolate she has ever had.

It is fine dining, and upwards of $$$ as far as costs. You can eat well there for the price and they do have great lunch options. Parking was complimentary valet, which is great for downtown eateries. I would go back for dinner in a heart beat. Chef Deb is tops on the culinary scene with her creations of southern fine dining.

 

 

Leave a Reply

